Investigation into URL rewriting issue

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Dec 12, 2008 at 6:02 PM
Hi there

First of all I'm completely new to N2 as of today but I'm hugely impressed and after looking at many different content management systems, I know this is the right one for me.

However, I've been having some fun with the URL rewriting...

I began with following the documentation and examples and built a basic site. I started with a root node and a start page node and had a few pages beneath that. Then I decided to make a different ContentItem and created another node beneath the root. This is where the problems started. I exposed the Name property as editable in my new ContentItem so I can change the URL. Unfortunately the URL rewriter is only able to function if the node is beneath the start page node. It doesn't matter what type of page I create outside of the start page node hierachy, the URL rewriting will not work (even using the default naming of [ID].aspx). In all cases, the full URL such as Template.aspx?Item=... works correctly. Incedently, I still have a ~/default.aspx template used by the start page (I've read on here some have pad trouble after removing this default template, this seems to be a different issue).

Not one to be put off by such undocumented features, I've done a little tracing and believe I've narrowed it down to something NHibernate is doing. Putting a break point on line 240 of N2/ContentItem.cs (the setter for the Children property) shows that NHibernate sets the children twice for each request that goes through the URL rewriter. The first time, it assigns a list of children of the root node, and the second time it assigns a list of children from the start page (i.e. first child of root). It does not seem to be building a complete list of children or a list of children appropriate to the URL needing to be rewriten.