Creating a MasterPage

Nov 21, 2008 at 4:46 PM
Hi everyone, im new in N2, i think its a great CMS, but i have lack of information regarding the documentation. I have a simple project and i want to create my own MasterPage, i dont find where in the project i can specify to pages whats the masterpage to use, it seems to use always the top+submeny.master. Any thoughts?

Thanx
Coordinator
Nov 21, 2008 at 5:12 PM
You can change master page using configuration:

<n2><templates masterPageFile="~/yes.master" />
Nov 21, 2008 at 5:43 PM
libardo, thanx for the quick response. But what if i need to define more than one masterpage in my site? Can i do that?
Coordinator
Nov 21, 2008 at 9:18 PM
The masterpage is applied to aspx:es inheriting from N2.Templates.Web.UI.TemplatePage. There are some ways to overcome this (inheriting from something else, overrideing OnPreInit, defining a custom IPageModifierContainer service). What do you want to accomplish? When would the masterpage differ?
Nov 24, 2008 at 1:59 AM
I want to have in my site some pages with a masterpage, and the others with another one, similiar but not the same. Doing something of what you've told before works for that?

Thanx
Jan 5, 2009 at 1:34 PM
Edited Jan 5, 2009 at 1:37 PM
I have the same problems, because CSS styles can't solve all problems, sometimes it's need to make some different html templates.
It will be great if we can change MasterPage templates on Themes Level or later on usual pages.
Jan 5, 2009 at 7:56 PM
If all that you want is to apply theme to all pages at once AND you don't want to inherit from TemplatePage<T>, then don't forget about an old trick of configuring .aspx pages via web.config:

<system.web>
<pages theme="MyTheme" styleSheetTheme="MyTheme" />
</system.web>

Jan 5, 2009 at 9:12 PM
I want that different html layouts could be applied to dofferent ContentItems!
Jan 5, 2009 at 10:00 PM