N2 CMS for beginners

Topics: Developer Forum
Sep 27, 2008 at 12:36 AM
I'm a relatively new to visual studio but think N2 is brilliant and am looking for somebody that may be able to help me. I've played around with the template versions and have some degree of understanding of how they work but it would be good if I could get some advice as I cannot get my head around how to develop something from scratch. I'm trying to create a site that requires 2x different templates which I've worked out from a style point of view using different classes using the TemplateUrl but don't understand how to add new fields and implement a the News system. Any advice or references would be much appreciated.
Sep 27, 2008 at 3:56 AM
Edited Sep 27, 2008 at 4:02 AM
Hi, I'm also a beginner who has used N2 for nearly 1 week. Here are some advised that may be of help.
Unlike some other CMS, N2 creates a item by creating a new item class, which is a class derived from N2.ContentItem. The class cooperates with a aspx web page which can be set by TemplateUrl. If you want new fields, just add new properties in the item class. Here's some documents about this
To build a news system, here's my way to do it.
firstly, create a item class for news. it may have some properties like title, content, time, etc. also create a "view" for it, the aspx page.
then we need a container to list all the news. it's also a item class. maybe you would like to add a property in this class named "page size" to control the size of each page. For the reason I may need to display the list in several different pages, I create it as a user control. Here's some information about it:
and the core code to find all the news is somewhat like
    private void BindFAQs()
    {
        IList<FAQItem> faqItems = Find.Items.Where.Type.Eq(typeof(FAQItem)).Select<FAQItem>();
        this.faqs.DataSource = faqItems;
        this.faqs.DataBind();
    }