This project is read-only.

About licence

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum
Aug 13, 2008 at 12:32 PM

Hi n2 cms developers,

we are a commerical company and planning to use n2 cms for our companys website. N2 cms is under LGPL licence, so what does that mean for us? I dont see any links to the n2 cms project on the front end of the cms nor in the html source code. Do we have to add a link like "powered by n2 cms" here? And do we have to provide a LGPL licence on our website, too? Are there any other things we should do according to the licence?

Thank you,
Michael.

Aug 13, 2008 at 1:55 PM
Hi

although I am not the developer, I am a developer who uses N2 as well in commercial products.
The question was asked before, an answer from the developer can be found in that thread: http://www.codeplex.com/n2/Thread/View.aspx?ThreadId=25690

Martijn
Aug 13, 2008 at 2:48 PM

Hi Mrtijn,

thank you for reply. I just want to "release" our companys website, so I dont "extend" the main n2 library source. My question is: Do we have to add any "hint" at our companys website that it was builded with n2 cms? And additional: Do we have to refer to the LGPL licence of n2 at our companys website?

Michael.

Aug 13, 2008 at 3:40 PM
The comments from libardo (this is the main developer) in the other thread do answer that I suppose?

"I don't think you need to publicly release your changes (and it's certanly not the intention). "

and

"As far as I understand the license applies to distribution. I chose LGPL mostly for some kind of restrictions on forking. By the way. I do love that the software is beeing used, modified or not."

Martijn
Aug 13, 2008 at 4:45 PM

Hi Martijn,