This project is read-only.

N2 cms FAQs

Topics: Developer Forum, User Forum
Jun 9, 2008 at 2:55 PM
hi,

I am new to N2 and its great, i have lots of experiences with CMSs, N2 is great, i have a few questions.

1. How do i prevent the root item from being deleted, likewise the main pages of the site in the cms. Those pages being deleted will mean no site at all, i want to prevent
deleting of the the main pages and the root page and also the trash can

2. I created a project and added the N2 dlls and the edit folder to it, how do i created user management sections. I know it has something to do with membership but how do i go about
it in N2.

3.I have created a content item for news. I am having trouble creating the published date, this is what i have created:
[N2.Details.EditableTextBox("Published", 20)]
public override DateTime Published
{
     get { return base.Published; }
     set { base.Published = value; }
}
   I get this error message when compiling: 'MyProject.ContentItems.News.Published': type must be 'System.DateTime?' to match overridden member 'N2.ContentItem.Published'
Jun 9, 2008 at 4:56 PM
1. The Root Item and the Startpage cannot be deleted, that is built in the framework.
2. See http://code.google.com/p/n2cms/source/browse/trunk/docs/releases/upgrade_1.3.5.txt, the part begins with "Change roles and membership providers:"
3. Try
    public override DateTime? Published
    {
    }   
Jun 9, 2008 at 6:12 PM
         1. Well what about preventing of deleting of main pages
         2. http://code.google.com/p/n2cms/source/browse/trunk/docs/releases/upgrade_1.3.5.txt, this only gives information for vs 2008, i am using vs 2005
         3. It works ... :)

MartijnRasenberg wrote:
1. The Root Item and the Startpage cannot be deleted, that is built in the framework.
2. See http://code.google.com/p/n2cms/source/browse/trunk/docs/releases/upgrade_1.3.5.txt, the part begins with "Change roles and membership providers:"
3. Try
    {
    }