This project is read-only.

Unable to implement localization

Topics: Developer Forum, Project Management Forum, User Forum
Mar 12, 2009 at 2:01 PM
Hi All
  I am new to N2 CMS and i am unable to implement localization in my applcation.Can anyone provide step by step implementation of localization or full solution that has used localization in that.

Thanks & Regards
Abhishek Ranjan
Mar 12, 2009 at 6:16 PM
There at least 4 means of localizing your web application:

1) You have a web page / user control with other web controls inside as a markup and you want to localise their properties. Use a standard ASP.Net implicit localisation feature. There plenty of info on how to do this. (App_LocalResources folder name is your keyword)

2) You want to get a localised strings in code inside your web application. Use a standard ASP.Net explicit localisation feature. (App_GlobalResources folder name to be the anchor)

3) You want a localised resources inside your class library. Use a standard .Net (not specific to the ASP.Net any more!) satellite assemblies with resources. (Pay attention to .resouce files)

These 3 topics were about localising the interface. The remaining one deals with localising a data:

4) You want to localise ContentItems properties of your site. Use the N2 localisation feature. The idea is that N2 automatically keeps a copy of your site hierarchy for every language you want your site to be translated to. So, first you want to create a dedicated StartPage for every language of choice and set it's Language property approprietly. Then, you select any item you want to translate in the Edit interface, click a "globe" icon from the top toolbar and choose a language to translate this item to. N2 will automatically create a copy for your item in appropriate "language site", so that you will be able to edit it's properties in another language. Afterwards, N2 will keep track of versions of items in different languages.

Mar 13, 2009 at 5:58 AM